The Metropolitan Water District of Southern California



The mission of the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California is to provide its service area with adequate and reliable supplies of high-quality water to meet present and future needs in an environmentally and economically responsible way.

Special Board Meeting - Final

January 9, 2023

9:00 AM

Monday, January 9, 2023 Meeting Schedule

09:00 a.m. Sp BOD 09:30 a.m. EOT 11:30 a.m. Break 12:00 p.m. OWS

Agendas, live streaming, meeting schedules, and other board materials are available here: https://mwdh2o.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx. A listen only phone line is available at 1-877-853-5257; enter meeting ID: 831 5177 2466. Members of the public may present their comments to the Board or a Committee on matters within their jurisdiction as listed on the agenda via in-person or teleconference. To participate via teleconference (833) 548-0276 and enter meeting ID: 815 2066 4276.

MWD Headquarters Building - 700 N. Alameda Street - Los Angeles, CA 90012

1. Call to Order

- a. Pledge of Allegiance: Director Linda Ackerman, Municipal Water District of Orange County
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Determination of a Quorum
- 4. Opportunity for members of the public to address the Board limited to the items listed on agenda. (As required by Gov. Code § 54954.3(a))

** CONSENT CALENDAR ITEMS -- ACTION **

- 5. CONSENT CALENDAR OTHER ITEMS ACTION
 - **A.** Approve Committee Assignments

<u>21-1816</u>

Attachments: 01092023 SP BOD 5A Chair-Elect Memo

** END OF CONSENT CALENDAR ITEMS **

6. FOLLOW-UP ITEMS

NONE

7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

8. ADJOURNMENT

NOTE:

Each agenda item with a committee designation will be considered and a recommendation may be made by one or more committees prior to consideration and final action by the full Board of Directors. The committee designation appears in parenthesis at the end of the description of the agenda item e.g. (E&O). Committee agendas may be obtained from the Executive Secretary.

Requests for a disability related modification or accommodation, including auxiliary aids or services, in order to attend or participate in a meeting should be made to the Executive Secretary in advance of the meeting to ensure availability of the requested service or accommodation.



Office of the Board of Directors

SPECIAL BOARD ITEM 5-A

Date: January 3, 2023

To: Board of Directors

From: Adán Ortega, Chair of the Board of Directors

Subject: Approval of Committee Appointments & Nomination of Chair for Ad Hoc

Committee on Facilities Naming

I would like to present the nominations for committee appointments for the current term ending at the conclusion of 2024. I am also proposing Director Larry Dick's appointment as chair of the Ad Hoc Committee on Facilities Naming to consider a proposal to name the Metropolitan Board Room.

To fill the seven standing committees of the board, I considered the choices of directors who responded to my request for input about committee membership preferences. An effort was also made to consider gender and geographic balance on each committee to the degree possible. Women comprise about 36% of the board's members, and in all but two committees, we were able to surpass that benchmark. I will address the imbalance on the Engineering, Operations, and Technology Committee as well as the Finance, Audit, and Asset Management Committee as vacancies arise and more women hopefully join the board when our member agencies appoint new directors over time. The membership of the Executive Committee is defined in the Administrative Code.

While the committee appointments were filled considering concurrent meeting schedules, I do not intend to schedule all committee meetings concurrently. We will modify the schedule to maximize opportunities for public participation over time. As the emergency orders of the pandemic expire, we will also consider holding committee meetings around the region. This may include scheduling such meetings "after work hours" at 5 p.m. to facilitate public attendance. Please continue to feel free to contact me directly with feedback.

We have difficult issues to address in 2023. I appreciate the advice and observations of all directors who have shared them, as well as members of the public who shared their ideas about meeting schedules. Please feel free to call me if you have any questions.

Let's get to work!

Chair of the Board

Engineering, Operations, and Technology Committee	Equity, Inclusion, and Affordability Committee
Dennis Erdman, Chair	Tana McCoy, Chair
Matt Petersen, Vice Chair	Gloria Cordero, Vice Chair
Art Chacon	Barry Pressman
Brenda Dennstedt	Bob Apodaca
Glen Peterson	David DeJesus
John Morris	Gloria Gray
Martin Miller	Larry Dick
Michael Camacho	Lois Fong Sakai
Russ Lefevre	Miguel Luna
Tracy Quinn	Nancy Sutley
Steve Faessel	Tony Fellow
Tim Smith	
Lois Fong-Sakai	

Legislation, Regulatory Affairs, and	One Water and Stewardship Committee
Communications Committee	
Fred Jung, Chair	Tracy Quinn, Chair
Ardy Kassakhian, Vice Chair	Steve Faessel, Vice Chair
Barry Pressman	David DeJesus
Bob Apodaca	Dennis Erdman
Brenda Dennstedt	Glen Peterson
Gloria Gray	Gloria Cordero
Judy Abdo	Jeff Armstrong
Miguel Luna	Linda Ackerman
Linda Ackerman	Lois Fong-Sakai
Marsha Ramos	Martin Miller
Thai Phan	Matt Petersen
Tim Smith	Nancy Sutley
Tony Fellow	Russ Lefevre
	Cynthia Kurtz
	Gail Goldberg
	Art Chacon

Legal and Claims Committee	Finance, Audit, Insurance, and Real Property Committee
Nancy Sutley, Chair Bob Apodaca, Vice Chair Cynthia Kurtz Harold Williams Glen Petersen Gloria Cordero Heather Repenning Larry Dick Marsha Ramos Martin Miller	Tim Smith, Chair Larry Dick, Vice Chair Art Chacon Barry Pressman Bob Apodaca Brenda Dennstedt David De Jesus Jeff Armstrong Martin Miller Matt Petersen Richard Atwater
Michael Camacho Tana McCoy	Tracy Quinn

Ethics, Organization, and	Ad Hoc Committee on Facilities Naming
Personnel Committee	
Marsha Ramos, Chair	Larry Dick, Chair*
Thai Phan, Vice Chair	Tony Fellow
Ardy Kassakhian	Michael Camacho
Dennis Erdman	Judy Abdo
Fred Jung	Gloria Cordero
Gloria Cordero	
Michael Camacho	* Nomination of Larry Dick, Chair
Nancy Sutley	**Naming of Board Room
Steve Faessel	
Lois Fong-Sakai	