#### **MINUTES**

### **SPECIAL MEETING OF THE**

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

## THE METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

# **September 28, 2021**

**52517** The Board of Directors of The Metropolitan Water District of Southern California met in Special Session on Tuesday, September 28, 2021.

Chairwoman Gray called the Teleconference Meeting to order at 12:51 p.m.

**52518** Board Secretary Abdo administered the roll call. Those responding present were: Directors Abdo, Ackerman, Atwater, Blois, Butkiewicz, Camacho, Cordero, De Jesus, Dennstedt, Dick, Erdman, Faessel, Fellow, Goldberg, Gray, Hogan, Jung, Kurtz, Lefevre, Luna, McCoy, Morris, Murray, Ortega, Petersen, Peterson, Pressman, Ramos, Record, Repenning, Smith, and Tamaribuchi.

Those not responding were: Directors Apodaca, Hawkins, Kassakhian, Phan, and Williams.

Director Quinn responded after roll call.

Board Secretary Abdo declared a quorum present.

**52519** Chairwoman Gray invited members of the public to address the Board on matters in this notice of Special Board meeting. No requests were made.

Director Pressman left the meeting.

**52520** Chairwoman Gray called for a vote to adopt resolution authorizing remote teleconference meetings pursuant to the Brown Act Section 54953(E) for meetings of Metropolitan's legislative bodies for a period of 30 days from September 28, 2021 to October 28, 2021, as set forth in Agenda Item 5-1 board letter.

Director Peterson moved, seconded by Director Atwater that the Board approve Item 5-1.

The following is a record of the vote:

Record of Vote on Item: *5-1					Yes		No	1	Abstain
Member Agency	<b>Total Votes</b>	Director	Present	Yes	Vote	No	Vote	Abstain	Vote
Anaheim	5277	Faessel	Х	Х	5277				
Beverly Hills	4056	Pressman							
Burbank	2666	Ramos	Х	Х	2666				
Calleguas Municipal Water District	11552		Х	Х	11552				
Central Basin Municipal Water Distri	17051	Apodaca							
		Hawkins							
			Subtotal:						
Compton	553	McCoy	Х	Х	553				
Eastern Municipal Water District	9492	Record	Х	Х	9492				
Foothill Municipal Water District	2131	Atwater	Х	Х	2131				
Fullerton	2255	Jung	Х	Х	2255				
Glendale	3622	Kassakhian							
Inland Empire Utilities Agency		Camacho	х	х	13433				
Las Virgenes		Peterson	Х	Х	2741				
Long Beach	5772	Cordero	Х	Х	5772				
Los Angeles	70689	Murray	Х	Х	17672				
		Petersen	Х	Х	17672				
		Quinn	Х						
		Luna	Х	Х	17672				
		Repenning	Х	Х	17672				
			Subtotal:		70689				
Municipal Water Dist. of Orange Cou	57264	Ackerman	Х	Х	14316				
		Tamaribuch	Х	Х	14316				
		Dick	Х	Х	14316				
		Erdman	Х	Х	14316				
			Subtotal:		57264				
Pasadena	3522	Kurtz	Х	Х	3522				
San Diego County Water Authority	58302	Butkiewicz	Х	Х	14576				
		Goldberg	Х	Х	14576				
		Hogan	Х	Х	14576				
		Smith	Х	Х	14576				
			Subtotal:		58302				
San Fernando	224	Ortega	Х	Х	224				
San Marino	730	Morris	Х	Х	730				
Santa Ana	3035	Phan							
Santa Monica	4352	Abdo	Х	Х	4352				
Three Valleys Municipal Water Distric	7753	De Jesus	Х	Х	7753				
Torrance	3237	Lefevre	Х	Х	3237				
Upper San Gabriel Valley Mun. Wat.	11942	Fellow	Х	Х	11942				
West Basin Municipal Water District	23608	Williams							
		Gray	Х	Х	23608				
			Subtotal:		23608				
Western Municipal Water District	12466	Dennstedt	Х	Х	12466				
Total	337725				309961				
Present and not voting									
Absent	27764								

# \*Director Quinn's vote was not recorded.

The motion to approve Item 5-1 passed by a vote of 309,961 ayes; 0 noes; 0 abstain; 0 not voting; and 27,764 absent.

Director Pressman returned to the meeting.

**52521** Chairwoman Gray called the meeting into closed session to hear Agenda Item 5-2 a report on San Diego County Water Authority v. Metropolitan Water District of Southern California, et al., San Francisco County Superior Court Case Nos. CPF-10-510830, CPF-12-512466, CPF-14-514004, CPF-16-515282, CPF-16-515391, CGC-17-563350, and CPF-18-516389; the appeals of the 2010 and 2012 actions, Court of Appeal for the First Appellate District Case Nos. A146901, A148266, A161144, and A162168, and California Supreme Court Case No. S243500; the petition for extraordinary writ in the 2010 and 2012 actions, Court of Appeal for the First Appellate District Case No. A155310; the petition for extraordinary writ in the second 2016 action, Court of Appeal for the First Appellate District Case No. A154325 and California Supreme Court Case No. S251025; and the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California v. San Diego County Water Authority cross-complaints in the 2014 action, the first 2016 action, and the 2018 action; and authorize payment to San Diego County Water Authority for Water Stewardship Rate charges under the Exchange Agreement for 2015 to 2017 and statutory interest.

San Diego County Water Authority directors were placed in the waiting room.

Director Peterson left the meeting.

The meeting returned to open session and Chairwoman Gray stated that during closed session, the Board discussed and conferred with its legal counsel regarding Item 5-2; and no action was taken in closed session.

**52522** Chairwoman Gray called for a vote for Agenda Item 5-2.

Director Morris moved, seconded by Director Ortega that the Board authorize payment to San Diego County Water Authority for Water Stewardship Rate charges under the Exchange Agreement for 2015 to 2017 and statutory interest. (Agenda Item 5-2)

The following is a record of the vote:

	Total Votes	Director			Yes Vote	No	No Vote	Abstain	Abstain Vote
Member Agency			Present	Yes					
Anaheim	5277	Faessel	Х	Х	5277				
Beverly Hills	4056	Pressman	Х	Х	4056				
Burbank	2666	Ramos	х	Х	2666				
Calleguas Municipal Water District	11552	Blois	Х	Х	11552				
Central Basin Municipal Water Distri	17051	Apodaca							
		Hawkins							
			Subtotal:						
Compton		McCoy	Х	Χ	553				
Eastern Municipal Water District		Record	Х	Х	9492				
Foothill Municipal Water District		Atwater	Х	Х	2131				
Fullerton	2255	Jung	х	Х	2255				
Glendale	3622	Kassakhian							
Inland Empire Utilities Agency		Camacho	Х	Х	13433				
Las Virgenes	2741	Peterson	Х	Х	2741				
Long Beach	5772	Cordero	Х	Х	5772				
Los Angeles	70689	Murray	Х	Х	17672				
		Petersen							
		Quinn	Х	Х	17672				
		Luna	х	Х	17672				
		Repenning	Х	Х	17672				
			Subtotal:		70689				
Municipal Water Dist. of Orange Cou	57264	Ackerman	Х	Х	14316				
		Tamaribuch	Х	Х	14316				
		Dick	Х	Х	14316				
		Erdman	х	Х	14316				
			Subtotal:		57264				
Pasadena	3522	Kurtz	Х	Х	3522				
San Diego County Water Authority	58302	Butkiewicz	Х						
		Goldberg	Х						
		Hogan	Х						
		Smith	Х						
			Subtotal:						
San Fernando		Ortega	Х	Х	224				
San Marino		Morris	х	Х	730				
Santa Ana		Phan							
Santa Monica		Abdo	Х	Х	4352				
Three Valleys Municipal Water Distri	7753	De Jesus	Х	Х	7753				
Torrance		Lefevre	Х	Х	3237				
Upper San Gabriel Valley Mun. Wat.		Fellow	Х	Х	11942				
West Basin Municipal Water District	23608	Williams							
		Gray	Х	Х	23608				
			Subtotal:		23608				
Western Municipal Water District	12466	Dennstedt	Х	Х	12466				
Total	337725				255715				
Present and not voting	58302								
Absent	23708								

<sup>\*</sup>Directors Butkiewicz, Goldberg, Hogan, and Smith did not vote on this item.

The motion to approve Item 5-2 passed by a vote of 255,715 ayes; 0 noes; 0 abstain; 58,302 not voting; and 23,708 absent.

**52523** Chairwoman Gray asked if there were any follow-up items. No requests were made.

**52524** Chairwoman Gray asked if there were any future agenda items. No requests were made.

52525 There being no objection, at 1:26 p.m., Chairwoman Gray adjourned the Meeting.

OL ODIA D. ODAY

CHAIRWOMÁN