THE METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA MINUTES

SPECIAL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

December 13, 2022

Chairwoman Gray called the hybrid teleconference and in-person meeting to order at 12:08 p.m.

Members present: Directors Abdo, Ackerman, Atwater, Camacho, Cordero, De Jesus, Dick, Fellow, Gray, Jung, Kurtz, Luna, McCoy, Peterson, Pressman, Ramos, Record, Smith, and Sutley.

Other Board members present: Directors Apodaca, Dennstedt, Erdman, Faessel, Fong-Sakai, Goldberg, Lefevre, Miller, Morris, Ortega, Phan, Repenning, and Tamaribuchi.

Committee staff present: Beatty, Castro, Chapman, Hagekhalil, Hudson, Kasaine, Salinas, Scully, Tonsick, Upadhyay, and Zinke.

1. OPPORTUNITY FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COMMITTEE ON MATTERS WITHIN THE COMMITTEE'S JURISDICTION

	Name	Affiliation	Item
1.	Rosa Batista	Mohres De La Tierra	8-1, 8-2, and 8-3

CONSENT CALENDAR ITEMS - ACTION

2. CONSENT CALENDAR OTHER ITEMS - ACTION

A. Approval of the Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting for October 25, 2022.

Chairwoman Gray asked the Directors if there were any comments or discussion on the minutes of the October 25, 2022, Executive Committee Meeting. None were made.

3. CONSENT CALENDAR ITEMS - ACTION

None

END OF CONSENT CALENDAR ITEMS

4. OTHER BOARD ITEMS - ACTION

8-1 Approve appointment of Board Vice Chairs effective January 1, 2023.

Chair-Elect Ortega presented Item 8-1.

Chairwoman Gray called for the vote on Item 8-1.

Director Ramos made a motion, seconded by Director Sutley to approve Item 8-1 as recommended by Chair-Elect Ortega (in the Item 8-3 Memo dated December 13, 2022)t.

The vote was:

Ayes: Directors Abdo, Ackerman, Atwater, Camacho, Cordero, De Jesus,

Dick, Fellow, Gray, Jung, Kurtz, Luna, McCoy, Peterson, Pressman,

Ramos, Record, Smith, and Sutley

Noes: None
Abstentions: None
Absent: None

The motion for Item 8-1 passed by a vote of 19 ayes; 0 noes; 0 abstention; and 0 absent.

8-2 Approve changes in the Administrative Code modifying the standing committees of the Board, creating certain ad hoc committees, modifying the role of the Board Secretary and providing an additional at-large elected member of the Executive Committee, eliminating gender-specific references to the Board and staff.

Motion: Adopt the CEQA determination and approve the recommendations for changes in the Metropolitan Administrative Code to modify the Board Committee structure as set forth above to reflect the new committee structure and duties.

Chair-Elect Ortega presented Item 8-2.

The following Directors asked questions or made comments:

Director(s)

- Record
- 2. Kurtz
- 3. Ramos
- 4. Peterson

- 5. De Jesus
- 6. Dennstedt
- 7. Gray
- 8. Fellow
- 9. Morris
- 10. Jung
- 11. Ackerman
- 12. Dick
- 13. Repenning

Chair-Elect Ortega and Staff responded to the Directors questions or comments.

Chairwoman Gray called for the vote on Item 8-2.

Director De Jesus made a motion, seconded by Director Ramos to approve Item 8-2 as recommended by Chair-Elect Ortega.

The vote was:

Ayes: Directors Abdo, Ackerman, Atwater, Camacho, Cordero, De Jesus,

Dick, Fellow, Gray, Jung, Kurtz, Luna, McCoy, Peterson, Pressman,

Ramos, Record, Smith, and Sutley

Noes: None

Abstentions: None

Absent: None

The motion for Item 8-2 passed by a vote of 19 ayes; 0 noes; 0 abstention; and 0 absent.

8-3 Approve Chairs, Vice Chairs, and members of Standing Committees and of the newly approved Ad Hoc Committees of the Board effective January 1, 2023.

Chair-Elect Ortega presented Item 8-3.

The following Director(s) asked questions or made comments:

Director(s)

1. Dick

Chair-Elect Ortega responded to the Directors questions or comments.

Chairwoman Gray called for the vote on Item 8-3.

Director Sutley made a motion, seconded by Director Dick to approve Item 8-3 as recommended by Chair-Elect Ortega (in the Item 8-3 Memo dated December 13, 2022).

The vote was:

Ayes: Directors Abdo, Ackerman, Atwater, Camacho, Cordero, De Jesus,

Dick, Fellow, Gray, Jung, Kurtz, Luna, McCoy, Peterson, Pressman,

Ramos, Record, Smith, and Sutley

Noes: None

Abstentions: None

Absent: None

The motion for Item 8-3 passed by a vote of 19 ayes; 0 noes; 0 abstention; and 0 absent.

Chairwoman Gray called for the vote on Consent Calendar Item 2A.

Director Ramos made a motion, seconded by Director Kurtz to approve Consent Calendar Item 2A as listed.

The vote was:

Ayes: Directors Abdo, Ackerman, Atwater, Camacho, De Jesus, Dick, Fellow,

Gray, Jung, Kurtz, Luna, McCoy, Peterson, Pressman, Ramos, Record,

Smith, and Sutley

Noes: None

Abstentions: None

Absent: Cordero

The motion for Item 2A passed by a vote of 18 ayes; 0 noes; 0 abstention; and 1 absent.

The following Directors asked questions or made comments:

Director(s)

1. Ortega

5. FOLLOW-UP ITEMS

None

6. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

General Manager Hagekhalil announced the January Committee Meeting schedule and about prioritizing items on what is being brought to the Board.

7. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 1:32 p.m.

Gloria D. Gray Chairwoman of the Board