

BOARD ITFM 8-3

Date: December 13, 2022

To: Board of Directors

From: Adán Ortega, Chair-Elect

Changes to Committee Structure, Proposed Appointment of Board Vice Chairs, Standing Committee Chairs, and Standing Committee Vice Chairs **Subject:**

After careful consideration and input from Board members, the proposed committee structure outlined in this memo is intended to provide meaningful discussion on policies and strategies. The four Board Vice Chairs will focus on specific fields of policy to better inform the Committee Chairs and thus, committee members, of matters coming before them. This structure is proposed to enhance the Board's leadership and oversight by empowering committees to effectively oversee policy, enhance deliberation by committee members, promote transparency to the public about the Board's deliberations, and to provide clear direction on policy and strategy to staff.

Board Letter 8-2, which will be considered by the Executive Committee and Board in December includes the proposed changes to Metropolitan's Administrative Code required to implement the new committee structure, including eight standing committees.

If 8-2 is approved, the Board will also consider the standing committee and adhoc committee leadership appointments below. Additionally, once established, standing committees will consider establishing subcommittees as recommended. Proposed appointments to standing committees, adhoc committees and recommended sub-committees are included below as well in the interest of transparency.

I have communicated in writing to all board members soliciting input and have attempted to speak to all board members as well. Board members were asked to review the potential changes to our committee structure over one month ago, and I received many helpful suggestions that are incorporated in Board Letter 8-2 and below. It is very gratifying to recommend the assignment of 32 of the board's members to committee, sub-committee and adhoc committee chair and vice chair posts. I will shortly be recommending representatives to external groups such as the Colorado River Board as well, but my intended nominations are included here too. We are accomplishing this while reducing the number of standing committees and by greatly limiting directors who serve in multiple leadership roles.

With members of the Executive Committee prescribed by the administrative code (that include the Board Chair, Board Secretary and two Chair Emeriti), and before 3 at-large members are

elected, the Executive Committee includes 9 women and 6 men. By ethnicity, the Executive Committee if approved includes 4 Latino/as, 2 Black, 2 Asian, and 7 white. Standing Committee Vice Chairs include 3 White, 2 Latino/as, 1 Western Asian (Armenian). Again, this does not account for the election of 3 at-large members of the Executive Committee in January 2023.

We have giant challenges and a heavy workload, and I look forward to working with each of you as we lead Metropolitan in the two years ahead.

Board Vice Chairs

Heather Repenning

Board Vice Chair for Climate Action

Michael Camacho

Board Vice Chair for Strategic Communications and Engagement

Gail Goldberg

Board Vice Chair for Finance and Planning

Judy Abdo

Board Vice Chair for Organizational Integrity & Accountability

Standing Committees

As described in the administrative code, the Executive Committee consists of the Board Chair, Board Vice Chairs, Secretary, all past Chairs of the Board who are directors of the district, and the Chairs of the standing committees. Currently, 2 directors serve as nonofficer members, which I propose increasing to three non-officer members.

^{*}TBD To be determined upon first meeting of the committee

Executive Committee
Adán Ortega, Board Chair
Lois Fong-Sakai, Board Secretary
Heather Repenning, Board Vice Chair for Climate Action
Gail Goldberg, Board Vice Chair for Finance and Planning
Michael Camacho, Board Vice Chair for Strategic Communications and Engagement
Judy Abdo, Board Vice Chair for Organizational Integrity, and Accountability
Tracy Quinn, Chair, One Water Committee
Dennis Erdman, Chair, Engineering, Operations & Technology Committee
Fred Jung, Chair, Legislation, Regulations and Communications Committee
Marsha Ramos, Chair, Ethics, Organization and Personnel Committee
Tana McCoy, Chair, Equity, Inclusion and Affordability Committee
Tim Smith, Chair, Finance, Audit & Asset Management Committee
Nancy Sutley, Chair, Legal & Claims Committee
Gloria Gray, Board Chair Emeritus
Randy Record, Board Chair Emeritus
At-Large 1
At-Large 2
At-Large 3

One Water Committee	Legislative, Regulatory Affairs and Communications Committee
Tracy Quinn, Committee Chair	Fred Jung, Committee Chair
Steve Faessel, Committee Vice Chair	Ardy Kassakhian, Committee Vice Chair
Recommended Sub-Committee on Demand	Recommended Sub-Committee on Public
Management & Conservation Priorities:	Engagement Strategy:
TBD*, Chair	Dr. Barry Pressman, Chair
TBD, Vice Chair	Dr. Tony Fellow, Vice Chair

Engineering, Operations & Technology	Ethics, Organization & Personnel
Committee	Committee
Dennis Erdman, Committee Chair	Marsha Ramos, Committee Chair
Matt Petersen, Committee Vice Chair	Thai Phan, Committee Vice Chair

Finance, Asset Management & Audit	Legal & Claims
Committee	Committee
Tim Smith, Committee Chair	Nancy Sutley, Committee Chair
Larry Dick, Committee Vice Chair	Robert Apodaca, Committee Vice Chair
Recommended Sub-Committee on Long-	
Term Regional Planning & Business	
Modeling:	
Richard Atwater, Chair	
TBD, Vice Chair	
Recommended Sub-Committee on Audits:	
David DeJesus, Chair	
TBD, Vice Chair	

Equity, Inclusion & Affordability		
Committee		
Tana McCoy, Committee Chair		
Gloria Cordero, Committee Vice Chair		

Ad Hoc Committees

Ad Hoc Committee Pure Water SoCal & Regional Conveyance	Ad Hoc Committee on External Property Management, Bay-Delta, and Colorado River Negotiations
Art Chacon, Committee Chair	Martin Miller, Committee Chair
Steve Blois, Committee Vice Chair	Linda Ackerman, Committee Vice Chair
	Members:
	Colorado River Board Rep. Gloria Cordero
	Palo Verde Land Management Committee,
	Cynthia Kurtz
	Bay Delta Construction Authority, Miguel
	Luna
	Bay Delta Finance Authority, Russ Lefevre
	Plus, two at-large to be appointed in January
	'23

Ad Hoc Committee on Facilities Naming (Board Room)	Ad Hoc Committee San Diego Litigation
To be Announced Jan. '23, Committee Chair	Continue with Current Committee already authorized by the board
	·

Ad Hoc Committee on Implementation of State Audit
David DeJesus, Committee Chair
Tana McCoy, Committee Vice Chair

Thank you for your consideration of the Standing Committees and my leadership nominations and appointments. I look forward to working with you on the tasks ahead.

Sincerely yours,

Adán Ortega, Jr.

Board Chair-Elect

^{*}TBD To be determined upon first meeting of the committee