MINUTES

BOARD OF DIRECTORS WORKSHOP SUBCOMMITTEE ON LONG-TERM REGIONAL PLANNING PROCESSES AND BUSINESS MODELING

THE METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

May 23, 2023

1. CALL TO ORDER

Committee Chair Atwater called the meeting to order at 2:45 p.m.

Committee Chair Atwater announced that we do not have any Directors participating in the meeting using AB 2449.

2. ROLL CALL

Interim Board Executive Secretary Hudson administered the roll call.

Board Members present: Abdo, Ackerman, Alvarez, Atwater, Camacho, Chacon (entered after roll call), Cordero, Erdman, Fellow, Garza, Goldberg, Kurtz, Lefevre (entered after roll call), McCoy, McMillan (entered after roll call), Miller, Morris, Ortega, Ramos, Repenning, Seckel, Smith, and Sutley

Board Members absent: Directors Armstrong, De Jesus, Dennstedt, Dick, Faessel, Fong-Sakai, Gray, Jung, Kassakhian, Luna, Petersen, Peterson, Phan, Pressman, and Quinn.

3. DETERMINATION OF QUORUM

Interim Board Executive Secretary Hudson determined that a quorum was present.

4. OPPORTUNITY FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE BOARD LIMITED TO THE ITEMS LISTED ON THE AGENDA.

No members of the public requested to speak.

Director Lefevre and Chacon entered the meeting.

Chair Ortega and Vice Chair of the Board Goldberg addressed the Board on matters pertaining to this Workshop.

Director McMillan entered the meeting.

5. WORKSHOP ITEMS

A. Subject: Climate Adaptation Master Plan for Water: Terminology and

Interests Workshop

Presented by: Liz Crosson, Chief Sustainability, Resilience, and Innovation Officer

Brad Coffey, Group Manager-Water Resource Management Sam Smalls, Manager of Treasury and Debt Management

Joan Isaacson, Principal at Kearns & West

Kit Batten, Kit Batten Consulting

Ms. Crosson introduced Joan Isaacson, Kearns & West, who moderated today's Workshop.

Ms. Isaacson presented the Board with an overview of the workshop agenda, initiated a lightning round table discussion, and provided her background.

Next, Ms. Isaacson introduced Ms. Crosson, who presented item 5a.1 to the committee with an overview of the climate adaptation master planning process and agenda. Mr. Coffey continued the presentation with an overview of resilience and reliability. His presentation included how Metropolitan defines these terms, how they are used in practice, and the effect evolving climate conditions impact the understanding of these terms. Lastly, Mr. Smalls continued the presentation with how Metropolitan defines financial sustainability and affordability, how they are used in practice, and how climate change affects them.

Ms. Crosson introduced item 5a.2 and overviewed the input received from the Member Agency Questionnaire. She then introduced the Member Agency Panel: Shivaji Deshmukh from Inland Empire Utilities Agency, Sandy Kerl from San Diego County Water Authority, Dave Pedersen from LVMWD, Alex Rojas from Central Basin Municipal Water District, and Stacy Takeguchi from Pasadena Water and Power. Ms. Isaacson asked the panel the following questions: 1. What are your thoughts on the interrelationship between resilience and reliability; 2. How does conservation fit into reliability at Metropolitan and at your Member Agency; 3. How do you see conservation and efficiency impacting affordability for your customers; 4. What are the most important elements of financial sustainability for water agencies; 5. Do you have any recommendations about programs; Metropolitan or Member Agencies can implement to help lowincome and disadvantage community members on affordability issues.

Next, Ms. Isaacson gave Directors an opportunity to write their thoughts regarding the key elements for Metropolitan that relate to the four terms: reliability, resilience, financial stability, and affordability.

Ms. Isaacson then initiated a small group discussion on guiding principles. The Directors broke into small groups with Metropolitan staff as facilitators. Upon completion of the small group discussion, the facilitators provided an overview of their groups guiding themes.

Lastly, Kit Batten provided an overview of next steps.

The following Directors made comments or asked questions:

- 1. McMillan
- 2. Garza
- 3. Ramos
- 4. Camacho
- 5. Kurtz
- 6. Ackerman
- 7. McCoy
- 8. Sutley
- 9. Ortega
- 10. Goldberg
- 11. Atwater
- 12. Fellow
- 13. Cordero
- 14. Abdo
- 15. Smith
- 16. Lefevre
- 17. Seckel
- 18. Alvarez
- 19. Morris
- 20. Chacon
- 21. Erdman

Staff responded to the Directors questions and comments.

6. FOLLOW-UP ITEMS

None

7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

None

ጸ	ΔD	.IOI	IRN	JMF	NT

Meeting adjourned at 4:59 p.m.

RICKITA HUDSON INTERIM BOARD EXECUTIVE SECRETARY ON BEHALF OF LOIS FONG-SAKAI SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

RICHARD ATWATER COMMITTEE CHAIR