THE METROPOLITAN WATER DISTRICT OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

MINUTES

SUBCOMMITTEE ON LONG-TERM REGIONAL PLANNING PROCESSES AND BUSINESS MODELING

July 24, 2024

Chair Petersen called the meeting to order at 9:34 a.m.

Members present: Directors Alvarez, Armstrong (AB2449 just cause), Erdman (teleconference posted location), Faessel, Fong-Sakai, McMillan, Petersen, Seckel, and Sutley (AB2449 just cause).

Members absent: Director Quinn.

Other Board Members present: Directors Ackerman (teleconference posted location), Bryant, Dennstedt, Goldberg, Gray (teleconference posted location), Lefevre (teleconference posted location), Miller (teleconference posted location), Morris, and Ortega.

Directors Armstrong and Sutley both appeared on camera and stated their circumstances, and that they were alone in their respective rooms.

Committee Staff present: Interim General Manager Upadhyay, Crosson, Dunbar, and Quilizapa.

1. OPPORTUNITY FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC TO ADDRESS THE COMMITTEE ON MATTERS WITHIN THE COMMITTEE'S JURISDICTION None.

CONSENT CALENDAR ITEMS – ACTION

2. CONSENT CALENDAR OTHER ITEMS – ACTION

A. Approval of the Minutes of the Subcommittee on Long-Term Regional Planning Processes and Business Modeling for April 24, 2024, and June 26, 2024 Director Alvarez made a motion to approve item 2A, seconded by Director Seckel.

The vote was:

Ayes:	Directors Alvarez, Armstrong, Erdman, Faessel, Fong-Sakai, McMillan, Petersen, Seckel, and Sutley
Noes:	None
Abstentions:	Director Fong-Sakai abstained from the minutes of June 26, 2024, since she was not present at that meeting
Absent:	Director Quinn

The motion for Item 2A passed by a vote of 9 ayes, 0 noes, 0 abstentions, and 1 absent for the April 24, 2024 minutes, and a vote of 8 ayes, 0 noes, 1 abstention, and 1 absent for the minutes of June 26, 2024.

Directors Armstrong and Sutley stated they were alone.

END OF CONSENT CALENDAR ITEMS

3. SUBCOMMITTEE ITEMS - CAMP4W TASK FORCE

a. Subject: Member Agency Managers Task Force Members

Cesar Barrera, City of Santa Ana Nina Jazmadarian, Foothill Municipal Water District Shivaji Deshmukh, Inland Empire Utilities Agency Dave Pedersen, Las Virgenes Municipal Water District Anatole Falagan, Long Beach Water Department Anselmo Collins, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power Harvey De La Torre, Municipal Water District of Orange County Dan Denham, San Diego County Water Authority Kristine McCaffrey, Calleguas Municipal Water District Tom Love, Upper San Gabriel Valley Municipal Water District Craig Miller, Western Municipal Water District Joe Mouawad, Eastern Municipal Water District Stacie Takeguchi, Pasadena Water and Power

Presented by: No presentation was given.

Task Force Members present: Member Agency Manager Members Barrera, Collins, De La Torre, Denham, Deshmukh, Falagan, Love, McCaffrey, Miller, Mouawad, Pedersen, and Takeguchi.

b.	Subject:	CAMP4W Task Force – Signposts, Model Inputs, and Annual Reports
	Presented by:	Demetri Polyzos, Water Resource Management Section Manager and Liz Crosson, Chief Sustainability, Resilience, and Innovation Officer

Mr. Polyzos and Ms. Crosson led the discussion regarding item 3b, CAMP4W Task Force – Signposts, Model Inputs, and Annual Reports.

The following Directors and Member Agency Managers asked questions and provided comments:

- 1. Member Agency Manager De La Torre
- 2. Member Agency Manager Collins
- 3. Member Agency Manager Falagan
- 4. Member Agency Manager Takeguchi
- 5. Member Agency Manager Denham
- 6. Director Fong-Sakai
- 7. Chair Petersen
- 8. Director Sutley
- 9. Vice Chair Seckel
- 10. Director Goldberg
- 11. Member Agency Manager Miller
- 12. Member Agency Manager Pedersen
- 13. Member Agency Manager Love
- 14. Member Agency Manager Deshmukh

Staff responded to Directors' and Member Agency Manager's comments and questions.

c. Subject: CAMP4W Task Force – Time-Bound Targets Refinement

Presented by: Martin Schlageter, Special Assistant to the General Manager

Mr. Schlageter led the discussion regarding item 3c, CAMP4W Task Force – Time-Bound Targets Refinement.

The following Directors and Member Agency Managers asked questions and provided comments:

- 1. Vice Chair Seckel
- 2. Member Agency Manager Falagan
- 3. Member Agency Manager Miller
- 4. Member Agency Manager Love
- 5. Board Chair Ortega
- 6. Chair Petersen
- 7. Director Goldberg

Subcommittee on Long-Term Regional Planning Processes and Business Modeling

- 8. Member Agency Manager Mouawad
- 9. Director Sutley

Staff responded to Directors' and Member Agency Manager's comments and questions.

d. Subject: Provide Direction to Member Agency Managers regarding the scope of their input for the business model review

Presented by: Matt Petersen, Task Force Chair

Mr. Petersen led the discussion regarding item 3d, Provide Direction to Member Agency Managers regarding the scope of their input for the business model review.

The following Directors and Member Agency Managers asked questions and provided comments:

- 1. Vice Chair Seckel
- 2. Board Chair Ortega
- 3. Member Agency Manager Pedersen
- 4. Member Agency Manager Falagan
- 5. Director Erdman

Staff responded to Directors' and Member Agency Manager's comments and questions.

e. Subject: Status of Water Treatment Cost Recovery Discussions

Presented by: Adam Benson, Finance and Administration Group Manager

Mr. Benson presented on item 3e, Status of Water Treatment Cost Recovery Discussions.

4. FOLLOW-UP ITEMS

None

5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

None

The next meeting will be held on August 28, 2024.

The meeting adjourned at 12:24 p.m.

Matt Petersen Chair